Let’s have a look back at 2013

calendar

We all love the annual In/Out list in our local newspaper every New Year’s Day.  At my house we fight over who gets it first, read it out loud, laugh and depending on the item either the younger or the older generation will not understand either a political reference (younger) or newest twerk or band (older).

I thought I would have a look back at this blog over the last year. What have I written about? What have been common themes? What has been fun and funny or sad and painful?,  and what has just been a dud of  a post?

I began the year talking about reflections (not resolutions) and self-care, especially for overdone moms that rarely have time for themselves.  I posted one of my favorite ditties from my website to share my view of the therapeutic experience and finished up January posting about a presentation I did.

During my own  walk down memory lane  I wrote about parenting, both younger and older children and how things change so much over time. Posts on snow days and spring break  allowed us all plenty of family time. And, I enjoyed many a post or more pontificating about my work, my progress and how much I love my job.

Throughout the year a common subject that has recurred is one of cancer.  This both saddens me and inspires me.  I completed my third Avon Breast Cancer Walk, I volunteer for a wonderful group, Bite Me Cancer, and, tragically a little girl in our community lost her battle with cancer in October.  Another vile recurrent theme has had to do with violence; this leaves me feeling furious and powerless and yet we continue to encounter cruelty on a much to regular basis.

A few posts stood out as just plain fun and positive.  I love Mother’s Day, a highlight of the year was filling up my Bucket List, and for some reason summer often wins out as having the most fun posts.

There have been more than my average posts about launching a child to college as I have suddenly found myself knee-deep in the parenting-a-college-kid experience.

And, as for duds: I just re-read this one and finished wondering what in the world I was talking about.

I feel like the narrator of one of the Christmas specials.  He sums up the hour long animated show with tales of the reindeer, the snowman and the furry squirrels turning in for the night.  As we prepare to bid goodbye to 2013, may we have less sadness, depression, cancer and violence and much much more joy and rich experiences in the year to come….”and to all a good-night!”

Year-in-Review-300x300

Leave a Reply

