Boston

boston

My sister called me early this morning, giddy, excited and chatting enthusiastically before I had my coffee.  She had just gone for a run (another thing I hadn’t done) and was totally pumped for her favorite day of the year: The Boston Marathon.

We grew up on the Marathon, either standing on Comm Ave, or somewhere in  Wellesley or Newton.  In 8th grade I remember riding out to Hopkinton to take my dad to the start of his Boston Marathon moment (the moments turned into 4+ hours, but who’s counting?) 

When I learned today what had transpired in Boston, my heart sank.  How could there be a bombing on my sister’s favorite day of the year? How could this celebration of months and months, miles and miles of training be detonated in such a way? 

This annual tradition is forever changed.  Like our airports,  our schools, and  our public venues, our races will now be affected.  It hurts to know that our kids are growing up in such a different world.

Be safe, hug your peeps, and DON’T MESS WITH BOSTON, we are one tough group.

 

 

4 Comments on “Boston”

  1. Stacy Schwartz says:

    😦 Don’t mess with Boston!!!!

    On Apr 15, 2013, at 7:58 PM, Laurie Levine LCSW wrote:

    WordPress.com laurielevinelcsw posted: “My sister called me early this morning, giddy, excited and chatting enthusiastically before I had my coffee. She had just gone for a run (another thing I hadn’t done) and was totally pumped for her favorite day of the year: The Boston Marathon.We grew up”

    • You got that right, sistah!

    • Sharon Williams, LCSW says:

      Laurie — I’m from Braintree, MA, and I totally agree. Race day was always so exciting — A Red Sox game, the Marathon, Patriot’s Day, the first day of April vacation. A special time to be from New England, and especially the Boston area. A day of pride. It both saddens and angers me to have that messed with in any way. I’m heartbroken for the victims. But I know my fellow Bostonians, and they are a tough, cohesive lot and they will prevail.


Leave a Reply

